You are here

COE Well Represented on the Governor's Climate Task Force and Science Advisory Board

Top Stories

Congralulations to Dr. Terry Chambers, Director of UL Lafayette's Energy Effeciency and Sustainalbe Energy Center and Mechanical Engineering Professor, who was named by Governor John Bel Edwards to the state's newly formed Climate Initiatives Task Force.

Dr. Chambers is among 20 panel members which includes representatives of state and federal governments, the private sector and academic institutions.  The task force was established to help identify pathways for the state of Louisiana to achieve the governor's goals with regard to net greenhouse gas emissions.

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Zappi, Executive Director of the Energy Institute of Louisiana and Professor, Chemical Engineering, and Dr. Peng “Solomon” Yin, Professor, Mechanical Engineering will serve on the task force’s Science Advisory Board.

The Science Advisory Board is one of four groups whose work will support the task force. Other topics include equity, law and policy, and financial and economic concerns.

See more details on KATC TV 3 and an interview with Dr. Chambers on KADN.

For more information, see Governor Edwards' announcement about the Climate Initiatives Task Force.